Yes, it’s done… but is it Steampunk?

If you were following me on Instagram you might have noticed I actually finished my corset about a week ago.  So why am I only posting about it now?

My first real corset
My first real corset

Yes, I love the fit.  Yes, it turned out just like I dreamed.  Yes, it’s a corset.

But is it “Steampunk”?  

Which begs the question, what is Steampunk?  Well, without going into a lengthy dissertation, it’s, well, more.  This corset is lovely, but it’s so vanilla. Simple. Plain.  Steampunk is jazzed up, decked out, embellished and bedazzled.  

And this… isn’t.  

8 thoughts on “Yes, it’s done… but is it Steampunk?”

    1. Thank you! I’m very happy with *that* part of the corset. I do have some nice dyes (seems I have all sorts of things laying around) but I haven’t had a lot of success with getting the dye to take evenly. May have to try that with a few project, though!

    1. Thank you! I think my problem at the moment is that I don’t know what embellishments would look “right” given that I’d be adding them on at the end, rather than integrating them into the construction. If done poorly, it could end up looking cheesy….clearly this calls for more time on Pinterest!

  1. You made that??? Wow! It is so perfect that I thought you purchased it. Talent! Pure talent! If you’re thinking of Steampunk….would hand painting it with rusty browns and gunmetal colours bring out the awesome look of SP you’d like? (but it’s gorgeous plain too!)

    1. Thank you! I love your idea of hand painting it with industrial-type colors. I don’t know if my skills are up to the challenge, but I have some scraps left to experiment on…

      1. Awesome! Either way, it is a great professionally-made garment and honestly, if you ever decided to do custom wear for people in the Burlesque industry, you’d clean up for sure! 🙂

Leave a comment